Dungannon Rugby Club

Dungannon Rugby Club title=

Match Centre

1st Struggle Against League Leaders

Ulster League
12 - 20
Sat 29 December 18
Kick Off: 14:30
Venue: Stevenson Park

Match Report

Rainey OB, with the Division II SONI title already in the bag, dropped in at Stevenson Park on Saturday with the intention of completing the ‘grand slam’ in the final round of games. Dungannon started well and nearly grabbed an early lead but John Buckley narrowly missed the target with a penalty shot. Ten minutes in though, Rainey settled and with Jason Bloomfield and Andrew Magrath pulling the strings soon sent winger, Mark Mulholland in for the opening score. Dungannon bounced back and the young Andrew Weir was unlucky when he chased a kick through the visitors’ defence, Rainey touching down for a drop out. Caolan Mulgrew then set the scene alight with a notable dash on the left wing that was eventually stopped by a last gasp tackle. However, Rainey continued to look dangerous and 2 minutes from the break sent Connor Fitzsimons through for a score to make it 0-10 at the break.
​In the third quarter Dungannon had the misfortune to ship a couple of injuries with both Buckley and Leyburn having to leave the field. The gallant hosts continued to compete though and Peter Doran looked to have scored but the referee had already blown the whistle. Justice was done two minutes later when the industrious Stephen Todd dived over to cut the deficit on the hour mark. This triggered a reaction from Rainey and minutes later John McCusker dotted down in the corner. The same player added a second to give the Magherafelt boys a try bonus but final say went to Dungannon when James Gamble forced his way over for Adam Evans to convert, leaving Rainey deserved winners at 20-12. They will play in Division I of the Ulster League next season and their place will be taken by Armagh who drop from Division I. The two sides will meet again on the 19th January at Stevenson Park when the AIL resumes.

Dungannon:- Andrew McGregor, Peter Cashel, Matthew Montgomery, Andrew Weir, Caolan Mulgrew, John Buckley, John Russell, Ross Stewart, Jamie McNeill, Sean O’Hagan, Stephen Todd, Peter Doran, David Leyburn, Adam Milligan, Alex Gormley, James Gamble, Glen Sinnamon, Malcolm Allister, Adam Evans, Andrew McPhillips.

Rainey OB:- Michael O’Neill, Mark Mulholland, Connor Fitzsimons, Andrew Brown, Adam Hunter, Andrew Magrath, Jason Bloomfield, Jack McIntosh, Aidan McSwiggan, Fintan Quinn, John McCusker, Ronan McCusker, Andrew Harbinson, Charlie Clarke, Michael McCusker, George Fritz, Calum Smyth, Michael Caithness, Damien McMurray, Lorcan Quinn.


Next Match

Dungannon v No Fixture

Sat 24 August 19 KO: 14:30


Ulster Bank All Ireland League Div 2B

Team P W D L B PTS
  • Ballina
  • BAL
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Belfast Harlequins
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Blackrock
  • BRK
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Dungannon
  • DUN
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Galway Corinthians RFC
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Galwegians
  • GALW
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Greystones
  • GREY
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Malahide
  • MAL
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Sligo
  • SLI
0 0 0 0 0 0
  • Wanderers
  • WAN
0 0 0 0 0 0
Mackle Apples